3 Simple Requests

Do good, love justice and show mercy - and a child will smile at God

My name is Sapna, which means dream. I am a little girl who lives deep in the country of India. My life is very hard as we are poor, uneducated and lowly. My legs don’t work very well, so I mostly get around by crawling and dragging myself through our village. Since I was a tiny baby, my mom realized that something was not right with my legs. As I grew and tried to do like the other children, I would turn after trying so hard, look at my mom with sadness, and notice a tear in her eye. She suffered with me and I felt very loved by her. Even when I couldn’t keep up with the others, I tried to be okay. When I did return to my mother’s loving arms, she held me close. At first she would be silent. I could feel her warm breath in my ear, the air going in and out very gently. Then very quietly she began to whisper words to me. They would tickle a bit, but I did not want to miss them, so I restrained myself and listened ever so carefully. “You will walk one day, my child. I feel it deep inside. I can see it in my mind’s eye.” As the days passed this seemed harder to believe, but as she continued to teach me how to have faith, to be kind to others, smile and always look for the miracles of life, I simply followed her lead.

Taran, my dearest friend and I would often find ourselves talking while playing a game with marbles. Marbles was our choice, mostly because I could sit on the ground and use my crooked legs as a fortress so that they would not roll away. I was really good at marbles, and he and I loved to play when we could. In between our shots we would talk of our dreams ~ mine was to walk, and his was to be a doctor. He wanted to be of help to his family and the people he loved. Taran was a very good student already and would often teach me those things he had learned in school. I especially loved to hear the poetry recited.

For two days Taran was nowhere to be seen. I missed him so much, but I just believed that he was occupied with school work or chores, so I counted, polished and rolled my marbles in wait for him. Finally one day, I saw him coming in the distance. The sun was shining in my eyes and I couldn’t make out what he had in his hand, but I was very glad to see him. When he reached me, he was hiding something behind his back. He teased me and I laughed after failing so many times to guess what it was. I did not guess so he said that I lost at the game. I started to hang my head in sadness, then suddenly he raised up two sticks. “Look what my papa and I have made for you!” I looked intently at these two sticks puzzled and wishing that I could figure out what they were. “Try them!” he stated. Gently he lifted me up upon my feet and ever so carefully he began to wrap one hand at a time around each stick. After my hands were secure, my feet were straight, he instructed me to straighten my back. He stayed close by, as I was a bit wobbly.  I followed each step as a good student, trusting that he understood how these strange sticks worked. Without thought, in a moment, I was standing strong and steady. I was careful not to laugh and lose my balance, but I could not hold back. With my eyes closed, and the biggest smile on my face, I could see me walking. I suddenly had my mother’s eyes ~ I could see the miracle. I was soon walking just as my mother had promised, just as she had seen it! Thank you Taran and papa – you are my miracle.  Thank you Momma – you are my inspiration!

Micah 6:8 He has shown you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God?

O Great Lord, as I hear these words my heart races! Is life with you really this simple? It seems that I continually complicate the “good path” with stuff!

Please help me to clear my path. Help me to see the good that you have planned for me. Help me to trust in you more fiercely!

Quite simply ~ Do what is fair and just to your neighbor Be compassionate and loyal in your love Don’t take yourself too seriously, but take God seriously.

May these simple life practices take effect and become my natural state!
May I, in any circumstance, find within myself a smile, tenacious hope, and the very best attitude.
May I believe deeply that you are near and able to bring the good to my life daily.
May I become a conduit of good in the earth on behalf of those who need the good that is in me.
May the good you provide be appreciated and shared without restraint!

Sincerely,

Me

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elena S. Kelly
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 18:42:46

    Reading this in its completion I was totally in the imagination world of these two interesting people. And Micah 6:8 spoke directly to my heart. Berna..I also see some pictures out in the world that have in depth meaning or reason behind it. The picture of the little girl smiling makes me smile as I think how so many little kids out there who don’t have much but have big dreams. And hers was to walk. And yet God knows the dreams in the hearts of many. Eventually her answer did come as Taran cared to help make it come true. Gosh as I’m typing I feel like a tear coming.:) It truly feels good inside to help others and bless others..seeing them smile in return and knowing you had made them glad. Yes I agree with you Julia- a lovely scene, full of imagry and value. 🙂
    Elena

    Reply

    • almostmissed
      Jul 22, 2010 @ 19:03:22

      Elena,
      I thank you so much for reading, feeling and especially wanting to continue “being the miracle” in the lives of others. Almost Missed desires to give us moments to remember… the words of Christ, a moment in time, a miracle, and yes, even a tear that has been waiting to be loosed! In these special moments, we take on a greater measure of heart love and expand the possibilities of hope!

      God bless you,

      Berna

      Reply

  2. almostmissed
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 14:44:03

    Job…one of my favorites. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment on this post.

    Mom

    Reply

  3. swodeck
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 11:53:25

    While I absolutely love this post, I am weighted heavy with the burden to do more. Many times we pray and hope God or fate or whatever will kick in and bring answers and solutions to the many troubling dilemmas we see in our community from day to day. What the real challenge becomes is in looking for solutions, hope and community within. Taran and his father didn’t wait for a mystical miracle to descend from the heavens…they became the miracle. I think of the widow in the bible who gave her last coins to invest into the widow/orphans of her community. A woman who would have been justified in asking for help was instead giving it. These people are my heroes.

    Reply

    • almostmissed
      Jul 13, 2010 @ 12:20:54

      Joshua,
      I appreciate these words, as it tells me that you caught an essence of this story. The words “been justified in asking for help instead giving it” show the movement of a soul who has embraced Micah 6:8. 2 coins seems insignificant until the smile of the soul breaks through in their new light! Thank you for commenting.

      Mom

      Reply

  4. Jacob
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 21:04:31

    Mom,

    You wrote this right? Is it fictional? I took the time to read it and and try to feel it. I think I did because after I was done I felt calm, grateful, and very human. Loved it. Please explain your blogging style. Now I’m curious 🙂

    Jacob (son)

    Reply

    • almostmissed
      Jul 10, 2010 @ 21:56:10

      Thanks for taking the time to feel the story. I love pictures and there are those that help me to say something with the essence of their own message. I embrace the message, then with a bigger picture in my mind, I formulate a story that relates to the human experience, do some research and then write. I hope to do more of these, as I think some pictures speak very deeply to us.

      Reply

      • Juliakate
        Jul 18, 2010 @ 00:19:22

        I really like the idea of story telling… Whether the story be fiction or non-fiction. Reminds me of Job. What a lovely scene, full of imagry & value.

Leave a Reply

Join 6 other followers

Collection of Thoughts

Almost Missed

Fascinated with those things in life that are almost missed, unless we pay close attention. Sometimes the most joy comes in the details. My granddaughter's eyelashes, my grandson's birthmark, my daughters sight, both my son's passion for the homeless...those things we are privileged to know when we take the time to look!

